22 year old Breast cancer survivor

This young woman is dealing with cancer in a different way than some others in the same circumstances. Here’s hoping everything turns out great.

This time last year I was in the middle of four months of chemotherapy treatments. I was bald as an egg and was planning a double mastectomy.

My how things have changed.

Now I have a college diploma, a clean report from my doctors, and my very own desk at FOX News Channel in New York. My breast cancer ordeal couldn’t be further behind me.     Here’s the rest

2 Responses

  1. Thank you for sharing this with us. There is two of us on our blog site that are currently dealing with a spouse that is in their “second” bout of breast cancer. Any feedback on the site, regarding the possible effect of chemo as it relates to depressive moods, would be greatly appreciated.

    John
    http://www.texaspoets.wordpress.com

  2. Colleen Cappon really impresses. It is not that she never missed a day or school and that she graduated (though these are quite large accomplishments). What I really like is how realistic her perspective is: be vigilant about your body even though the chances are slim; she is thrilled to be in good health now, even though she recognizes that remission is a grey area. Rock on, we need more smart, balanced perspectives like hers!

Leave a comment