Can I use teak and be green?

I am considering using teak hardwood for my floors. The store I’m looking at gets its teak from Costa Rica. What should I watch for to be sure I’m NOT choosing something that is harmful for the environment, or people? My internet research is leaving me confused as to whether or not I will be supporting sustainable forestry practices if I choose teak.

Great question! It’s okay that you’re a bit confused, as there’s a lot of contradictory information out there. Teak has a long list of both positives and negatives associated with its harvesting and use, and both should be carefully considered before deciding whether or not to use it.

http://planetgreen.discovery.com/home-garden/teak-sustainable-hardwood-flooring.html

Leave a Reply

