Same day mastectomy service

When I had my surgery I had a bilateral mastectomy and bilateral oophorectomy (ovaries removed), not exactly quick surgery. The next morning the nurses were talking about discharge. I politely (ha ha) refused citing many facts not the least of which was that I was still on a morphine pump.

Now I learn that the House Energy and Commerce Health Subcommittee on Wednesday is scheduled to vote on a bill (HR 758) that would require health coverage providers to expand hospital-stay coverage for women undergoing breast cancer surgery, CQ HealthBeat reports.

This is good to see. There are only two problems. One, bill sponsor Rep. Rosa DeLauro (D-Conn.) has called for extended hospital-stay coverage since 1996. Well that’s just plain sad.

Here’s my favorite news quote; Susan Pisano, a spokesperson for America’s Health Insurance Plans, said the group is “concerned about putting treatment guidelines in statute.” She added, “To the extent that you put a particular guideline in statute you freeze it there, and we think the approach that should be used is to look at what the science suggests is working well for women and what their particular preferences are.” Pisano noted that the group has not seen much evidence “to suggest that women aren’t being allowed to stay in the hospital for the amount of time being recommended.”

Now I don’t want to be crass but the day that you are removing a woman’s breasts, boobs, tits, tatas, whatever you would like to call them is a day that same woman should not have to worry about being thrown out of the hospital.

I wonder, if there were a testiculectomy or a penisectomy, do you think it would take 12 years to approve legislation? If this bothers you, call your Representative and let them know what you think.

4 Responses

  1. I had just one breast removed, prophylactically, and ovaries removed on the same day also. But I had it done the week after I had finished radiation. And radiation came right after chemo… which came after a wide excision to get clean margins, which came after a biopsy. Being a 9-year survivor, I was (am) worried about reaching my max on insurance, so I had it done in a clinic and went home that afternoon. I wasn’t able to take pain meds because I had to get back to driving… my husband who is self-employed had to get back to work so we could have some income and I had to get back to watching after my kids, then 8 and 11. The only time I have spent in the hospital is having my kids (one night with each), spinal fusion (one night) and pneumonia (a week!). I’ve had 20 surgeries in 9 years…

    My worry is, if we max out insurance, not eligible for disability or Medicare, and it’s required, how’s it going to be paid for? And is a hospital stay only going to be granted if you can afford it?

    I’m just worried… I’ve tried to be a frugal consumer for my sake and my insurance sake… But…

  2. Wow, I can’t imagine having the history you do. 20 surgeries! I understand your concerns about insurance maxes, certainly something that needs to be looked at. Thanks for making me think about it.

  3. Oh yes, my post did make it, BUT, I wasn’t finished. Computers…

    Anyway, I love the quote, “I wonder, if there were a testiculectomy or a penisectomy, do you think it would take 12 years to approve legislation?”

    NO is my answer. AND we’d have an overhaul of the health care system so that people like me would not have to worry about IF they live another 10 years, is there enough money left to treat me.

    I just hope views like this are not causing it to bog down. But you’d think with the star power behind it…

    Wonder if Senator Kennedy has to worry about any of this?

  4. Somehow i missed the point. Probably lost in translation 🙂 Anyway … nice blog to visit.

    cheers, Wicker!!!!

Leave a Reply

