No antioxidants in treatment please

I love my oncologist!!! It’s just that simple.  He advised me to stay away from antioxidants when I was in treatment in 2006.  I don’t know about anyone else but everybody and their brother was trying to give me green tea (which was getting “hot” then) as well as every other thing they could think of and as I told them I was advised against them they looked at me like I was insane.  I know the data is mixed but in this area I’d rather err on the side of caution.  Thanks doc!

Cancer patients should avoid the routine use of antioxidant supplements during radiation and chemotherapy because the supplements may reduce the anticancer benefits of therapy, researchers concluded in a commentary published online May 27 in the Journal of the National Cancer Institute.

Radiation and many chemotherapy agents work to kill cells by inducing free radicals that damage DNA and proteins. Therefore, there is a possibility that taking antioxidant supplements, such as vitamin E or beta carotene, may interfere with the therapies and reduce their anticancer activity.

http://www.medicalnewstoday.com/articles/108994.php

Leave a Reply

