I need my CELLPHONE

There is not enough information in this article to tell me whether these are parents with no skills or an actual addiction.  I am going to hold on to it for years and pull it out everytime someone rolls their eyes at me when I tell them my seven year old doesn’t need a cellphone.  The eye roll is generally paired with this statement “How are you going to keep in touch with him?”

I take a deep breath and as calmly as possible explain that as my son is SEVEN there are really limited places (read NONE) that he’s going to be without my knowledge.  I mean Pleeaasseee, he hasn’t been to the Viper Room since the holidays.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/europe/7452463.stm

4 Responses

  1. SEVEN?!? What the heck is going on in this world that a 2nd grader would need a cell phone? And why wasn’t my 4 and 5 year olds invited to the Viper Room with your kid?

  2. Hee hee. When I taught elementary school, I was floored by how many children had cell phones. My kids are going to think I’m SO mean.

  3. Man, I told my seven year old to invite everyone to the Viper room, what will I do with him?

  4. I’m right there with you. My 12 year old has wanted one since she was 10. I said no. I still say NO. I will say NO until she is driving. And then…I just might let her use mine instead of getting her one of her own. 🙂

    peace,
    Donna

Leave a Reply

