Parent abuse

It was a busy weekend here for the kids.  Pumpkin had a birthday party to go to hosted by one of the sweetest Moms I’ve ever met.  She picked him up and took the boys to an inflatable party place, like a Pump It Up!  or Jump Zone!.  Any Mom who will pick up my kid and take him to the party wins a gold star in my book.

Then Lambchop and I were off to a birthday party for one of her friends.  Turning 4 is a very exciting event and even more so when you have your party at a gymnastics studio. The kids had a great time, jumping, running bouncing and rolling I expect they’ll all sleep well tonight.

About half the kids at the party attend daycare with Lampchop and are sweet 3 and 4 year olds and then there was a little one I’d not spent too much time with before.  Lovely child during the party, I saw no problems with her  interacting with the other children appropriately.  Her behavior toward her mother on the other hand, was a bit disturbing and I expect will predict their relationship for the next 15 years or so.

Child:  “I want that leotard!”

Mother: “I’ve told you that when we sign you up for gymnastics we’ll get the leotard you need.”

Child:  Pulls leotard off of the rack, hits her mother with it and then declares “I want this one now!”

Mom stood there dumbfounded and said nothing.  I smiled and said “Those are really expensive Suzy maybe another day”

Mom scooted her out the door to the car where I witnessed the child hitting her mother at least two more times with no response from her mother. I don’t mean little girl slaps but a hit with all of the force this girl had.

Now I know about planned ignoring and trying not to pay any attention to a behavior to help extinguish it but then I think of how my parents would have responded.  Had I struck an adult as a child I would have been whacked and I don’t know anyone my age who would answer any differently.

I don’t know about any of you by my child would have been grabbed by the arm, put in her car seat and we would have been out of there immediately with additional ramifications when we got home.

What about you?  What would you do? Am I missing something here?  Have things changed so much?

Leave a Reply

