Follow up appointments

Well today was the follow up PET scan and I’ve made it through thanks to Xanax and some understanding colleagues and my fabulous husband.  I guess I’ll get results by the end of the week.  It’s funny, I feel fine and am doing what I am supposed to do so I am confident that everything will come back negative.  Unfortunately I also felt fine when I was diagnosed.

For those who haven’t had one here’s how it works.  You go in for fasting blood work where they check your blood sugar.  Then they bring in the lead box, inject the radioactive tracer and then you have to wait for an hour.  During that hour you’re not supposed to move.  So you lay in this cross between an exam table and a Lazy Boy.  The location I have mine done at brings warm blankets.  I’m generally over heated to begin with but give me a warm blanket and lay me down at 8 am and I’m out.

So I had a nice little nap and then they took me in for my scan.  The table you get laid on is a little narrower than an ironing board and slightly less comfortable. You lay down, fully dressed, and in my case, with  my arms up over my head and stay in that position for about 30 minutes. And that’s it. They scan from basically the level of the eyes to mid thigh.

I asked one of the techs one time, “Why don’t you scan all they way down my legs, why not my feet?” and was politely told “We don’t see foot cancer very often ma’am.”

I’ve since learned that it is because cancer can actually be pretty predictable.  When breast cancer comes back it usually hits the liver, lungs and bone.  So basically, if they were to find it in my foot, they would find it somewhere else as well.

I can’t remember if my oncologist office calls with good news, bad news or all news so I left them a message. I’ve got to crash but I wanted to thank all the people on the cancer boards who were sending up good vibes and love.  THANKS!

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to Ma.gnoliaAdd to TechnoratiAdd to FurlAdd to Newsvine

3 Responses

  1. Yes, I remember these appointments very well. Horrifying to say the least. Hang in there. :-0

  2. Don’t get me wrong, still better than going through all the treatment again, just different.

  3. Sending NED vibes your way. 🙂

Leave a Reply

